May Surprises

Standard

The past week has flown by, with the help of some nice surprises! The first and most important as it enhances all the others, was the change in weather. The week before had been a but cloudy and muggy, but the clouds decided to clear a bit and let the sun play centre stage! On Tuesday afternoon Julia, Raul, Hector and I had a good time making chocolate truffle together. They are my three ‘private kids’ with whom I spend an hour on Tuesday afternoons, playing or making something together while I speak to them in English and they join in or absorb! We have good days and bad days, and even better days like Tuesday! At Easter time we had made some Easter egg nests with cornflakes and imported (by myself) Cadbury’s dairy milk chocolate and Mini Eggs. They loved making them, making a mess, then of course eating them! They’ve been asking since then when we could cook again, so I did some last minute scrambling on realising we only have a few more weeks and we made some chocolate truffles. I managed to get a hold of everything I needed okay, and they turned out tasty, and interesting- some were real giants! I’ve also decided to make some Canadian roll with them on our next class. It’s something else easy to make, and I think they’ll like it, especially as they LOVE coconut and condensed milk-I had a hard job keeping their fingers and tongues away from the packet and tin. I asked their mum if she could find the glacé cherries for me as I couldn’t, she seemed to know exactly where, but that left the problem of marshmallows, which are not such a big thing over here. My friend Fiona helped me solve it. She also happened to be another surprise! A quick decision was made to come for a wee visit, Saturday evening until Tuesday evening, with thanks to Ryanair. So she took some marshmallows over for me. I’ve managed to find a solution to my visitor’s comfortable sleeping problem, and I can’t believe I didn’t think of it earlier. One of my flat mates has a spare bed in her room, so we moved the mattress only into my room where it fits perfectly into the space beside my bed. So no hard floors or couches necessary.

We had such a good time together, it was great to catch up and to be able to share a wee bit of the life of Peigi over the past few months. We had beautiful weather and managed to do a lot, think I tired her out (warning to all visitors!). We had a quiet Sunday with church, lots of talking and some wandering. The various Circus acts (another surprise!) kept us entertained over the weekend. The Trapezi Circus took over Reus from Thursday to Sunday. Unlike our kind of circus that normally has shows in one place, here there’s a whole timetable of a multitude of acts taking place in just about every square and venue, even the main theatres. They attracted a huge crowd to Reus, and there are a huge amount of people forming the circus so you saw them everywhere as well. I’ve never seen so many dreadlocks in one place! It was interesting.

Fiona and I spent Monday in Barcelona, catching an early and late train. We managed to do some main attractions, what can be done in one day in Barcelona just scrapes the surface of what it has to offer. But we also managed to visit and take a guided tour of the Palau de la Música de Catalunya. An amazing building and a purpose built concert hall designed and built by Lluís Domènech i Montaner (a contemporary of Gaudí) between 1905 and 1908. I’d never been before and we both really enjoyed it and appreciated it. Unfortunately, due to it being a private building and copyright laws, you aren’t able to take photos inside. But I recommend visiting http://www.palaumusica.org for info, although its been said that it is strangely lacking in pictures. Of course, it would be best to attend a concert there. It welcomes all kinds of musical and cultural events, from choir singing (the Palau was built for and remains the headquarters of the Orfeó Català, the Catalan Choir) to rock! There are around 300 organised events a year these days, which is nearly an event a day! And over 300 000 visitors a year! It was a really good tour as well, with lots of information. Definitely worth adding to your Barcelona list.

I also managed a evening out to dinner! I went with some of the teachers from school for a proper pizza on Thursday night. One of the teachers who had been covering somebody on sick-leave was leaving, so we got together for one last time. Lots of laughs from them, I only get some of the stories or jokes, but laughing is contagious so its okay! Of course, the camera has been going all week, although I didn’t get any of the precious truffles, and you can ‘see’ my year abroad on flickr!

One response »

  1. Hi ay Pegleg!

    I got a nice surprise when I checked your blog and found that you had updated today! Sounds like your having lots of fun, truffles are amazing:o) Its good your getting visitors too, think Seoras is looking forward to going out, hopefully a more relaxed holiday than last time!

    Saw Katie Macleod in the coop today, she was asking when you’d be home, she’s doing her dissertation just now.

    Got an invitation to Charissa’s wedding, you got an outfit yet?!

    Love and prayers,

    Mairianne xxx

Leave a Reply

